Contextualized stories

It’s difficult to get back into blogging. When I let so much time go by, I feel as though I need to have something significant to say, or not bother saying anything at all. Then again, if I don’t say something I may never get started again. That pithy, profound, perfect thought may never occur to me. So… for the sake of getting started once again, I’ll just write about what came across my desk this afternoon.

I’m editing a story about a training workshop held in Asia. The participants were learning how to develop media productions that would communicate with oral societies. Using stories from the Bible for practice, they “wrote a storyline, drew pictures, edited pictures with Photoshop, chose background music and recorded voice-over narration for the stories.” But here’s the kicker: as elephants are more valuable than sheep in their countries, they modified the story of The Lost Sheep (from the book of John) to “The Lost Elephant”.

Not ever having owned an elephant, I can’t imagine what it would be like to actually lose one (or how difficult it would be to find again). Yet it must be possible. Or maybe they were just having fun with the story. I don’t know. But I would like to have been there, crafting the story with them. They sound like a fun bunch to work with.

4 thoughts on “Contextualized stories

  1. Luci says:

    elephants! are they hard to lose?

    • Dawn Kruger says:

      Exactly! I picture in my mind the old Sunday school pictures that showed a little lamb stuck in a bush, bleeting pathetically until the shepherd comes and gently extracts it from the thorny nest, being careful not to harm the little wobbly legs or scratched nose. How different it is to imagine a baby elephant caught in the web of a gargantuan jungle spider, so heavily rolled up in silk threads that he is hardly recognizable, trembling and (meekly?) trumpeting, waiting for the distressed herdsman to come crashing through the trees brandishing the mother of all bush knives, slashing cords of spider web threads until he is able to safely extract the dear little grey giant from its silk prison. Hm…. not working for me, but then again, as I said, I’ve never owned an elephant. I don’t know what a lost one looks like — or does — or doesn’t look like or do.

  2. Dawn Kruger says:

    Thanks for the compliment, Esther. 🙂

Leave a comment